Taxi Training

DSA taxi driving test

You might need to pass the Driving Standards Agency (DSA) taxi assessment to drive a taxi or private hire vehicle (PHV) – contact your local council to find out if you need to.

There are 3 types of assessment you can take:

  • the standard driving assessment
  • the enhanced assessment – this includes a wheelchair exercise
  • the upgrade assessment if you’ve done the standard assessment and now want to do the wheelchair exercise

Book your test

  1. Contact your local council to find out if you need to take the test.
  2. Book your test with DSA if you have to take it.

What the assessment involves

The assessment lasts for about 40 minutes.

Eyesight test

At the start, you’ll have to read a number plate from a distance of:

  • 20 metres for vehicles with a new-style number plate
  • 20.5 metres for vehicles with an old-style number plate

New-style number plates start with 2 letters followed by 2 numbers, eg AB51 ABC.

You must use glasses or contact lenses during the whole test if you need them to read the number plate.

You can’t take the driving part of the assessment if you fail the eyesight test. You can still do the wheelchair exercise if you’re taking the enhanced assessment.

Practical assessment

The assessment will include:

  • a manoeuvre where you’ll be asked to turn your vehicle to face the opposite direction
  • around 10 minutes of driving without being given turn-by-turn directions by the examiner
  • stops at the side of the road as if a passenger is getting in or out
  • related questions, eg what to do if a passenger leaves property in your vehicle
  • questions from the Highway Code and identifying traffic signs and road markings

You might also be asked to do an emergency stop.

You’ll pass the assessment if you make 9 or less faults. You’ll fail if you make a serious or dangerous fault.

Wheelchair exercise

You’ll have to do a wheelchair exercise if you’re taking the enhanced assessment – you’ll need to bring a wheelchair accessible vehicle.

You’ll need to show your ability to:

  • safely load and unload the wheelchair in your vehicle
  • use the wheelchair brakes to secure and release it
  • fasten the seat belts or safety harness
  • secure any wheel belts or clamps fitted to your vehicle

Passing the assessment

When you pass your taxi assessment, you’ll get:

  • a pass certificate (form TPH10)
  • a copy of your assessment
  • a debrief from the examiner

When you pass your wheelchair assessment, you’ll get:

  • a pass certificate (form WTA10)
  • a copy of your assessment
  • a debrief from the examiner

Your local council will tell you what to do when you’ve passed the assessment.

Failing the assessment

If you fail the assessment you’ll get:

  • a debrief from the examiner
  • a copy of your assessment

You must wait at least 3 clear working days before you retake the assessment. Sundays and public holidays don’t count as working days.